top of page

Christmas presents Shopping Spree


Christmas! Christmas is here guys, don't you just love Christmas? I've been loving this tradition ever since I was a child, although now I have a different reason for loving it.

C'est Noël! Enfin presque, mais voilà je vais partager avec vous mes achats de cadeaux pour mes proches (au cas-où vous n'avez toujours pas d'idées quoi offrir, vous avez encore le temps!)

When I was younger, (I grew up in the Philippines and had a Catholic education), Christmas is a big deal, back in those days we count from December 16 to 24 to attend the night mass. According to a folk belief, if you completed the 9-day mass, your wish would be granted (for me it's just wasn't true .. or maybe I didn't wished hard enough?). And there's Christmas carolling! OMG I love and miss carolling, it's one of my favorite things to do. So many memories are coming back to me when I think about it. It was so much fun; we used to create our own instruments, particularly the drums made from big cans of milk... so nostalgic.

Quand j'etais plus jeune (pour ceux qui ne savent pas, je suis née aux Philippines et ai eu une éducation catholique), Noël chez moi, c'est quelque chose de très important. On a cette tradition où on participe à la messe nocturne du 16 au 24 décembre, c'est un engagement de 9 jours, que si tu complètes, ton vœu (oui il faut un vœu pour les 9 jours, qu'un seul) s'exaucera, enfin selon les croyances .. parce que mon vœu ne s'est jamais réalisé si mes souvenirs sont bons. Ensuite on a ce qu'on appelle le "carolling", je ne sais pas comment traduirais ce mot mais je vous explique ce que c'est. Plus jeune, durant les fêtes, mes amis et moi avions l'habitude de faire un petit groupe pour chanter des chants de Noël devant les gens (tous les autres enfants faisaient pareils, c'est une tradition). C'était vraiment sympa, quand on fabriquait nos propres instruments musicaux puis on chantait devant les gens pour avoir des sous ou bien des friandises. Cette activité se fait normalement le soir, après les cours.

Back to the present, Christmas tradition is not the same in France, if I may lay out the differences briefly it'd be like this:

Philippines 👉 We start the Christmas Eve by attending the last mass -- Misa de Gallo, we celebrate at home with lots of foods (yum!), we share our feast with the neighbors by the way and just celebrate until we fall asleep. Well that's how it was when I was younger, I grew up in a squatter's area and exchange gift wasn't our thing back then.

France 👉 I think everyone knows how meals are like here in France, they've got appetizer first, then starter, main course, cheese course (I have no idea how to call this part), and lastly dessert. All these around the table with the family from at least 5pm I'd say until 12am (or even later, because I experienced it) and in between there's opening the presents which is really cool. But it still all depends on your family; how they celebrate their Christmas.

Retour au présent, having migrated in France, there sure are differences between the two countries:

Philippines 👉 On commence le réveillon de Noël en allant à la dernière messe nocturne, puis à l'arrivée à la maison, on fait la fête en partageant le dîner avec la famille ainsi qu'avec les voisins. En gros, le réveillon se passait de telle manière là où j'ai grandi. En effet, j'ai grandi dans un bidonville, et échanger des cadeaux? Ce n'est pas un truc que je connaissais.

France 👉 Je n'ai pas tellement besoin d'expliquer comment on fait la fête ici ... non?

Living in France and experiencing Christmas made me like offering presents to my loved ones and that's why I like Christmas, however I miss my home country. Christmas is different over there, there's lights everywhere, literally everywhere, Christmas songs are played in each store, everyone is so joyful, you just feel how they love Christmas. I'm not hating on France, because I totally understand the cultural differences but yeah, I was born Filipino, the culture is pounded very deep into the roots of my soul (yeah I love my home country !).

Vivre en France et ayant eu toutes ces expérience ont fait que je prenne goût à offrir des cadeaux à mes proches. Mon pays natal me manque bien sûr, je n'ai rien contre la France mais je trouve que Noël est peu triste ici, chez moi, il y avait des lumières partout, littéralement partout. On entends des chants de Noël tout au long de la journée. C'est vraiment une période joyeuse, on ne peut que sentir la joie de vivre.

Enough of the reminiscence, and back to the main topic which is "Christmas presents Shopping Spree'. Earlier I said, I love offering presents to my loved ones, and I actually started my shopping the first week of November. If you need ideas regarding what presents to buy, maybe my Christmas haul would help you (I don't know, it might or it might not ..).

Bon assez de nostalgie, retournons maintenant au sujet en main. Tout à l'heure je disais que j'aimais offrir des cadeaux, donc tant que les idées me viennent j'en profite pour les concrétiser. J'ai fait mes achats bien plus tôt pour être tranquille. Si vous n'avez rien acheté encore, et que vous êtes tombés sur mon article, et bien je vous en prie, laissez-vous inspirer.

For mothers | Stenders Cosmetics

After discovering Lush, I was out on the hunt for other natural cosmetics brands, Stenders caught my eye since it's got a boutique just beside Lush's boutique in my city. Though, I have to admit I haven't tried their products and since I want to give out presents that have natural touch in them, I decided to enter their store. Here's what I bought for both my mom and my mother-in-law.

Après avoir découvert Lush, je fais des recherches constantes des marques de produits cosmétiques naturels, je suis donc tombée sur la boutique Stenders qui se trouve juste à côté de la boutique Lush dans ma ville.

As I was smelling each fragrance, I just knew which would correnspond to each of them. Both are summer scents but Blooming Meadow has more intense aspect than Northern Light. Personally I like the latter since I'm more of a sweet and fruity oriented person.

J'ai acheté 2 parfums différents pour ma mère et ma belle-mère, bien sûr c'est toujours mieux de savoir le goût de la personne, mais voici deux senteurs qui peuvent vous intéresser; le premier a une odeur plus prononcé que le deuxième.

Boyfriend | Comfy

Comfortable clothes always come in handy in a man's life, I know mine does that's why I bought this pair of PJ's from Undiz.

Les mecs aiment être confortable, une paire de pyjama est toujours la bienvenue. J'ai acheté cette paire chez Undiz.

Sister | DIY gift

My sis loves cats and doing crafty things. I can do some crafty things myself as well so, I made her a cat in a Christmas sock cross-stitch pattern. I hope she'll like it.

Ma petite sœur adore fabriquer des choses, elle adore dessiner, faire des accessoires etc.. je lui avais dit que je savais faire des points de croix. Je lui avais promis d'en faire un mais j'ai jamais eu le temps, mais ce Noël, enfin j'ai pu le faire.

Father | Leather wallet

My dad has really helped a lot with my driving and all, and just to show my gratitude I think giving him something he needs is a good idea.

Mon père a fait tellement de choses pour moi en ce qui concerne la conduite, et je pense que c'est le meilleur moment pour lui montrer ma gratitude. Je lui ai acheté un portefeuille Levi's parce que j'avais remarqué qu'il n'en a plus.

Father-in-law | Music lover

Cuban Café music is the perfect gift for someone who's in love with latino music.

Quoi de mieux que d'offrir un CD de la musique cubaine à une personne qui adore la musique. J'ai trouvé celui-ci chez Nature et Découvertes.

Sister-in-law | Lady gift

I'm not really close with my brother-in-law's wife so I just went ahead and bought something that every woman wouldn't say no to -- a perfume.

Je ne conais pas tellement la femme de mon beau-frère mais je sais que le parfum est toujours le bienvenue chez les femmes. J'ai donc acheté ce parfum Rituals à Sephora.

Niece | Illustrated book

I love giving presents to babies, your choices are endless. This time, I chose an illustrated book for my cute little niece, it appears that she likes turning the pages!

J'aime trop acheter des cadeaux pour les bébés, il y a juste trop de choix. Cette fois-ci j'ai pris un livre d'illustrations pour ma nièce, apparemment elle adore tourner les pages des livres!

Merry Christmas to everyone! / Joyeux Noël tout le monde!

Christmas presents Shopping Spree


Christmas! Christmas is here guys, don't you just love Christmas? I've been loving this tradition ever since I was a child, although now I have a different reason for loving it.

C'est Noël! Enfin presque, mais voilà je vais partager avec vous mes achats de cadeaux pour mes proches (au cas-où vous n'avez toujours pas d'idées quoi offrir, vous avez encore le temps!)

When I was younger, (I grew up in the Philippines and had a Catholic education), Christmas is a big deal, back in those days we count from December 16 to 24 to attend the night mass. According to a folk belief, if you completed the 9-day mass, your wish would be granted (for me it's just wasn't true .. or maybe I didn't wished hard enough?). And there's Christmas carolling! OMG I love and miss carolling, it's one of my favorite things to do. So many memories are coming back to me when I think about it. It was so much fun; we used to create our own instruments, particularly the drums made from big cans of milk... so nostalgic.

Quand j'etais plus jeune (pour ceux qui ne savent pas, je suis née aux Philippines et ai eu une éducation catholique), Noël chez moi, c'est quelque chose de très important. On a cette tradition où on participe à la messe nocturne du 16 au 24 décembre, c'est un engagement de 9 jours, que si tu complètes, ton vœu (oui il faut un vœu pour les 9 jours, qu'un seul) s'exaucera, enfin selon les croyances .. parce que mon vœu ne s'est jamais réalisé si mes souvenirs sont bons. Ensuite on a ce qu'on appelle le "carolling", je ne sais pas comment traduirais ce mot mais je vous explique ce que c'est. Plus jeune, durant les fêtes, mes amis et moi avions l'habitude de faire un petit groupe pour chanter des chants de Noël devant les gens (tous les autres enfants faisaient pareils, c'est une tradition). C'était vraiment sympa, quand on fabriquait nos propres instruments musicaux puis on chantait devant les gens pour avoir des sous ou bien des friandises. Cette activité se fait normalement le soir, après les cours.

Back to the present, Christmas tradition is not the same in France, if I may lay out the differences briefly it'd be like this:

Philippines 👉 We start the Christmas Eve by attending the last mass -- Misa de Gallo, we celebrate at home with lots of foods (yum!), we share our feast with the neighbors by the way and just celebrate until we fall asleep. Well that's how it was when I was younger, I grew up in a squatter's area and exchange gift wasn't our thing back then.

France 👉 I think everyone knows how meals are like here in France, they've got appetizer first, then starter, main course, cheese course (I have no idea how to call this part), and lastly dessert. All these around the table with the family from at least 5pm I'd say until 12am (or even later, because I experienced it) and in between there's opening the presents which is really cool. But it still all depends on your family; how they celebrate their Christmas.

Retour au présent, having migrated in France, there sure are differences between the two countries:

Philippines 👉 On commence le réveillon de Noël en allant à la dernière messe nocturne, puis à l'arrivée à la maison, on fait la fête en partageant le dîner avec la famille ainsi qu'avec les voisins. En gros, le réveillon se passait de telle manière là où j'ai grandi. En effet, j'ai grandi dans un bidonville, et échanger des cadeaux? Ce n'est pas un truc que je connaissais.

France 👉 Je n'ai pas tellement besoin d'expliquer comment on fait la fête ici ... non?

Living in France and experiencing Christmas made me like offering presents to my loved ones and that's why I like Christmas, however I miss my home country. Christmas is different over there, there's lights everywhere, literally everywhere, Christmas songs are played in each store, everyone is so joyful, you just feel how they love Christmas. I'm not hating on France, because I totally understand the cultural differences but yeah, I was born Filipino, the culture is pounded very deep into the roots of my soul (yeah I love my home country !).

Vivre en France et ayant eu toutes ces expérience ont fait que je prenne goût à offrir des cadeaux à mes proches. Mon pays natal me manque bien sûr, je n'ai rien contre la France mais je trouve que Noël est peu triste ici, chez moi, il y avait des lumières partout, littéralement partout. On entends des chants de Noël tout au long de la journée. C'est vraiment une période joyeuse, on ne peut que sentir la joie de vivre.

Enough of the reminiscence, and back to the main topic which is "Christmas presents Shopping Spree'. Earlier I said, I love offering presents to my loved ones, and I actually started my shopping the first week of November. If you need ideas regarding what presents to buy, maybe my Christmas haul would help you (I don't know, it might or it might not ..).

Bon assez de nostalgie, retournons maintenant au sujet en main. Tout à l'heure je disais que j'aimais offrir des cadeaux, donc tant que les idées me viennent j'en profite pour les concrétiser. J'ai fait mes achats bien plus tôt pour être tranquille. Si vous n'avez rien acheté encore, et que vous êtes tombés sur mon article, et bien je vous en prie, laissez-vous inspirer.

For mothers | Stenders Cosmetics

After discovering Lush, I was out on the hunt for other natural cosmetics brands, Stenders caught my eye since it's got a boutique just beside Lush's boutique in my city. Though, I have to admit I haven't tried their products and since I want to give out presents that have natural touch in them, I decided to enter their store. Here's what I bought for both my mom and my mother-in-law.

Après avoir découvert Lush, je fais des recherches constantes des marques de produits cosmétiques naturels, je suis donc tombée sur la boutique Stenders qui se trouve juste à côté de la boutique Lush dans ma ville.

As I was smelling each fragrance, I just knew which would correnspond to each of them. Both are summer scents but Blooming Meadow has more intense aspect than Northern Light. Personally I like the latter since I'm more of a sweet and fruity oriented person.

J'ai acheté 2 parfums différents pour ma mère et ma belle-mère, bien sûr c'est toujours mieux de savoir le goût de la personne, mais voici deux senteurs qui peuvent vous intéresser; le premier a une odeur plus prononcé que le deuxième.

Boyfriend | Comfy

Comfortable clothes always come in handy in a man's life, I know mine does that's why I bought this pair of PJ's from Undiz.

Les mecs aiment être confortable, une paire de pyjama est toujours la bienvenue. J'ai acheté cette paire chez Undiz.

Sister | DIY gift

My sis loves cats and doing crafty things. I can do some crafty things myself as well so, I made her a cat in a Christmas sock cross-stitch pattern. I hope she'll like it.

Ma petite sœur adore fabriquer des choses, elle adore dessiner, faire des accessoires etc.. je lui avais dit que je savais faire des points de croix. Je lui avais promis d'en faire un mais j'ai jamais eu le temps, mais ce Noël, enfin j'ai pu le faire.

Father | Leather wallet

My dad has really helped a lot with my driving and all, and just to show my gratitude I think giving him something he needs is a good idea.

Mon père a fait tellement de choses pour moi en ce qui concerne la conduite, et je pense que c'est le meilleur moment pour lui montrer ma gratitude. Je lui ai acheté un portefeuille Levi's parce que j'avais remarqué qu'il n'en a plus.

Father-in-law | Music lover

Cuban Café music is the perfect gift for someone who's in love with latino music.

Quoi de mieux que d'offrir un CD de la musique cubaine à une personne qui adore la musique. J'ai trouvé celui-ci chez Nature et Découvertes.

Sister-in-law | Lady gift

I'm not really close with my brother-in-law's wife so I just went ahead and bought something that every woman wouldn't say no to -- a perfume.

Je ne conais pas tellement la femme de mon beau-frère mais je sais que le parfum est toujours le bienvenue chez les femmes. J'ai donc acheté ce parfum Rituals à Sephora.

Niece | Illustrated book

I love giving presents to babies, your choices are endless. This time, I chose an illustrated book for my cute little niece, it appears that she likes turning the pages!

J'aime trop acheter des cadeaux pour les bébés, il y a juste trop de choix. Cette fois-ci j'ai pris un livre d'illustrations pour ma nièce, apparemment elle adore tourner les pages des livres!

Merry Christmas to everyone! / Joyeux Noël tout le monde!

bottom of page